Governance & Leadership

The Brighton Secondary School Governing Council meets on the first Monday of each month at 7.00pm

The Brighton Secondary School Governing Council comprises 21 councillors, including:

  • 1 Principal
  • 14 Elected parents (including one SIM representative & one SIV representative)
  • 3 Community Representatives
  • 1 Staff Representative
  • 2 Student Representatives

Role of Council:

  • To involve the school community in the governance of the school by:
    • Providing a focus and a forum for the involvement of parents and the school community
    • Ascertaining the educational needs of the local community and the attitude of the local community to educational developments with the school; and
    • Ensuring that the cultural and social diversity of the community is considered and particular needs are appropriately identified.
  • To set the broad direction and vision of the school
  • Strategic planning for the school including:
    • Developing, monitoring and reviewing the objectives and targets of the strategic plan; and
    • Considering, approving and monitoring human resource and asset management plans.
  • Determine policies for the school including policies for the safety, welfare and discipline of students.
  • Determine the application of the total financial resources available to the school including the regular review of the budget
  • Monitor and review the Services Agreement.
  • Report to the school community and the Minister on:
    • The strategic plan
    • The finances of the school
    • Operational plans and the Council’s operations

If you have any enquiries or requests for information please contact the school or the Chairperson, Sue McKenzie, by phoning the school on 8375 8200 or email

Brighton Secondary School
Governing Council Members 2017
Olivia O’Neill Principal
Jacqui Squires Chairperson, Parent Member
Sue McKenzie Deputy Chairperson, Parent Member
Leah York Parent Member
Michaela Simmonds Parent Member
Robert Warburton Treasurer, Parent Member
Catherine Mayfield Parent Member
Amanda Staples Parent Member
Robyn Clark Parent Member
Rachael Edwards Parent Member
Manuel Solis Parent Member
Carlos Canini Parent Member
Kerry Pienaar Parent Member
Sonya Arnott Parent Member
Benjamin Hooper Parent Member
Stephen Whitehead Parent Member
Michael Sard Music Representative, Parent Member
Chris Champion Volleyball Representative, Parent Member
Sandra Hall Staff Representative
Brett Carruthers Staff Representative
Nima Valamanesh Staff Representative
Kein Kurosawa Head Prefect
Ella Warner Head Prefect


Governing Council Code of Practice
Governing Council Constitution

Copyright © Government of South Australia 2018 | Disclaimer | Privacy | Sitemap | Contact Us | Department for Education and Child Development T/A South Australian Government Schools CRICOS Provider No 00018A.
SACSA | SACE Board of South Australia | My School | Australian Curriculum | Government of South Australia